Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

IKM-Manning CSD

District Information


Ajax Loading Image


Special Board Meeting 12/2/19

IKM-Manning Community School District

Special Board Meeting

December 2, 2019

IKM-Manning HS STEMBEST Classroom

5:00 p.m.



Meeting called to order at 5:00 p.m. by President Heller.  Directors present were Heller, Ferneding, Rasmussen, Meiners, Potthoff, Meiners, and Sam Hansen who attended via cell phone.  Others in attendance were Supt. Miller, Secretary North, Principals Wall & Whitson, and four guests.


Motion by Ferneding, second by Potthoff to approve agenda and motion carried unanimously.


Discussion was held on facility planning, recap of the three options, and the Board’s views on what option needed to be taken in the best interest of the district. Handouts were distributed on the feedback from the community meetings along with some operational costs.  After further discussion, it was the Board’s directive that Mr. Miller have the architect team look into the cost of what it would take to build at site to be determined in Manilla compared to adding onto the Manning building in conjunction with making sure that the facilities were up to date with the best interest of the students in mind and the student’s needs.


Motion by Ferneding, second by Rasmussen to move into closed session (Iowa Code 21.5(1)(i))(To evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring performance, or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual’s reputation and that individual requests a closed session).  Roll call taken and all directors voted aye.  Entered closed session at 6:24 p.m.


Motion by Rasmussen, second by Ferneding to come out of closed session.  Roll call taken and all directors voted aye.  Came out of closed session at 7:55 p.m.


There being no further business, motion by Potthoff, second by Meiners to adjourn.  Motion carried unanimously and meeting adjourned at 7:56 p.m.


Respectfully Submitted,



Dave Heller, Board President                                                          Karli North, Board Secretary