Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

IKM-Manning CSD

District Information


Ajax Loading Image


January Board Minutes


January 16, 2020

Regular Board Meeting

IKM-Manning HS Library in Manning

7:00 p.m.


The meeting was called to order at 7:02 p.m. by President Heller.  Directors present were Heller, Hansen, Ferneding, Rasmussen, Potthoff, and Meiners.  Director Williams attended via zoom.  Others in attendance were Superintendent Miller, Secretary North, Principals Wall & Whitson, and approximately 25 guests.


Motion by Hansen, second by Ferneding to approve agenda and motion carried unanimously.


President Heller welcomed the guests and a thank you note from the Dreyers was shared.


Pat Wuestewald addressed the Board on his view on the possibility of an upcoming bond vote referendum.  He stated he wasn’t at the meeting to change the vote of the Board but to let them know he felt the bond referendum vote would not pass for three reasons.  First, the fact that everything would be in Manning would give the impression of the oneness everyone was striving for would only apply to Manning. Second he thought the Board might be settling more on wants than needs.  He was in support of the Manilla building and expressed the west wing in Manilla along with the gym was very feasible.  He did not feel that the facilities committee was very fair or serious in their meetings. Third was with the tax increase that would greatly impact many seniors, landowners, and farmers. 


Ron Reischl addressed the Board and reminded them that they were about to vote on a very important issue that would have an impact for up to 70 years.  The impact of 2 million dollars more for 1 site in lieu of 2 sites, loss of 4 teachers per year for 70 years because of travel impact, flexibility of student learning because of different sites, and the feasibility of staffing 2 buildings needed to be considered.  He stated any bond vote was hard, but that the Board needed not to let the fear of failure sway their vote.  He asked for a 7-0 vote.  He reminded the Board that they took an oath and were required by law to vote what was best for the school district.  He also stated he was against a new gym and felt that money needed to be used in renovating current classrooms to 21st century environments.


Motion by Potthoff, second by Ferneding to approve the consent agenda (minutes from 12/19 and 1/6, financials, and bills) and the motion carried unanimously.


Principal Wall shared that all the juniors took the ASVAB test and explained what the test was.  He also shared that all the certified staff would be attending an all day Professional Development in Riverside where all the Western Iowa Conference schools would attend also.


Principal Whitson gave an update on assessments and field trips.  She also thanked the GALA for sponsoring the most recent trip where the students were placed in businesses and had to do the finances, communications, and figure out why their business failed or succeeded.  She is looking at sending 7th & 8th graders to this same experience next year.


Supt. Miller told the Board the SIAC committee had met last week and they would be working on setting goals at the next meeting.  He also let the Board know he had been working with businesses to work with DMACC to try and get some classes started in order to get more students involved in taking hands on courses to allow students to explore all opportunities whether it be a 4 year, 2 year, trade school or being able to receive a certificate to give them the confidence to enter the workforce.


Discussion was held on forming a committee to meet with business owners to get the word out that the district would like to partner with them with the possibility of student internships.  It was decided to form a small committee with board members, administration, and teachers.


Motion by Meiners, second by Ferneding to approve the 2020-2021 SIAC Committee as presented and motion carried unanimously.


Discussion was held on future bond referendum and what option the district was going to pursue.  Motion by Ferneding, second by Hansen to go with option 2 at 16 million (not the 24 million) to get the maximum benefit at the least amount of money, whether it be adding on or building a second facility in Manning and look towards September as date for election.   A roll call vote was taken. Ferneding, Williams, Rasmussen, Hansen, Meiners, and Potthoff voted aye and Heller voted nay.  Heller then told the Board and visitors that he would support the 6-0 vote whole-heartedly. 


Priorities for summer work was tabled until more information could be obtained.  Consensus was to get a camera down in the tunnels and see how severe the damage is and what steps could be taken.  This will be done in the next week or two at the latest.


Motion by , Potthoff, second by Meiners to approve low bid of 3 year audit proposal from Nolte-Cornman (Year 1 $9,900, Year 2 $10,200, and Year 3 $10,500) and motion carried unanimously.


Approval of the ESTES contract as Construction Manager was tabled until Board members could read the contract in entirety.  A quick special meeting will be held on that topic to either approve or deny.


Motion by Hansen, second by Potthoff to approve the following contracts and resignations:

                  Beth Hagedorn – Ass’t HS Softball Coach

                  Susan Mulvihill – MS Para

                  Michelle Plumb – MS Para

                  McKaylie Croghan – Move from JH Volleyball to HS Volleyball.

Motion carried unanimously.


Motion by Meiners, second by Hansen to enter closed session according to Iowa Code 21.5(1)(i)-Personnel and vote was taken and all directors voted aye.  Entered closed session at 8:42 p.m.


Motion by Hansen, second by Rasmussen to come out of closed session, all directors voted aye and out of closed session at 9:20 p.m.


There being no further business, motion by Potthoff, second by Meiners to adjourn and motion carried unanimously.  Meeting adjourned at 9:21 p.m.


The next regular meeting will be February 20, 7:00 p.m in the IKM-Manning HS STEMBEST Classroom.


Respectfully Submitted,




Dave Heller, Board President                                                          Karli North, Board Secretary